My Manager’s Support Through Depression and Anxiety Helped Me Succeed (Time to Change)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Talking about mental health in the workplace is an incredibly daunting and frightening step to take. Thoughts swirl around your head as you wonder whether being open about a subject, that is so stigmatised, will be detrimental to your career or your working relationship; β€œwill colleagues treat you differently? Will it affect your chance of progression? Will you even have a job left!?”

I kept my anxiety and depression concealed from my employer for as long as I possibly could for those exact reasons. It was only when I got to breaking point that I finally had a conversation with my manager – Ruth…

To continue reading, please check out the full post here: https://www.time-to-change.org.uk/blog/my-managers-support-through-depression-and-anxiety-helped-me-succeed

2 thoughts on “My Manager’s Support Through Depression and Anxiety Helped Me Succeed (Time to Change)

  1. Karen Beth says:

    This was an awesome blog writing and I am so glad that you fought through the stigma to make it noticed by your boss … that’s just awesome! The problem with the world is, people see mental health as something that is in OUR control … the world needs to be more aware of this. I deal with anxiety, depression, anxiety attacks, emetophobia – all things I don’t have control over and brought on by the sexual abuse and rape I endured as a child . . . . but I learned to talk about it, use my voice, write about my healing and put the word out there ….. good for you for really taking this into the workplace to shine a light on what is never talked about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

